Riprap (1959)
Myths & Texts
Six Sections from Mountains and Rivers Without End (1965)
A Range of Poems (1966)
The Back Country
Riprap and Cold Mountain Poems (1969)
Regarding Wave (1969)
Manzanita (1972)
The Fudo Trilogy (1973)
Turtle Island
Axe Handles (1983)
Passage Through India (1983)
Left Out in the Rain (1988)
No Nature: New and Selected Poems (1992)
North Pacific Lands & Waters: A Further Six Sections (1993)
Mountains and Rivers Without End
Danger on Peaks (2005)

Earth House Hold: Technical Notes & Queries for Fellow Dharma Revolutionaries (1969)
The Old Ways: Six Essays (1977)
He Who Hunted Birds in His Father’s Village: The Dimensions of a Haida Myth (1979)
The Real Work: Interviews & Talks (1964-1979) (1980)
The Practice of the Wild (1990)
A Place in Space: Ethics, Aesthetics, and Watersheds (1995)
Back on the Fire: Essays (2007)