The Fate of Felicity Fark in the Land of the Media: a moral poem (1975)
Peregrine Prykke’s Pilgrimage Through the London Literary World (1976)
Britannia Bright’s Bewilderment in the Wilderness of Westminster (1976)
Fan-mail: seven verse letters (1977)
Charles Charming’s Challenges on the Pathway to the Throne (1981)
Poem of the Year (1983)
Other Passports: poems 1958-1985 (1986)
The Book of My Enemy (2003)
Opal Sunset, Selected Poems, 1958-2008 (2008) 

Brilliant Creatures (1983)
The Remake (1987)
The Man From Japan (1993)
The Silver Castle (1996)


The Metropolitan Critic (1974)
Visions Before Midnight: television criticism from the Observer 1972-76 (1977)
At the Pillars of Hercules (1979)
Unreliable Memoirs (1980)
The Crystal Bucket: television criticism from the Observer 1976-79 (1981)
From the Land of Shadows (1982)
Glued to the Box: television criticism from the Observer 1979-82 (1983)
Falling Towards England (1985)
Clive James On Television (one-volume edition of the television criticism books) (1991)
Flying Visits: Postcards from the Observer, 1976-83 (1984)
Snakecharmers in Texas: essays 1980-87 (1988)
May Week Was in June (1990)
The Dreaming Swimmer: non-fiction, 1987-1992 (1992)
Fame in the 20th Century (1993)
As of this Writing: The Essential Essays, 1968-2002 (2003)
Even as We Speak (2004)
The Meaning of Recognition: New Essays 2001-2005 (2005)
North Face of Soho (2006)
Cultural Amnesia: Necessary Memories from History and the Arts (2007)