Eros the Bittersweet (1986)
Glass, Irony, and God (1992)
Short Talks (1992)
Plainwater, Essays and Poetry (1995)
Autobiography of Red: A Novel in Verse (1998)
Economy of the Unlost: Reading Simonides of Ceos (1999)
Men in the Off Hours (2001)
The Beauty of the Husband (2002)
If Not, Winter: Fragments of Sappho (2002)
Wonderwater (Alice Offshore) (volume two) (2004)
Decreation (2005) 

Electra (2001)
Grief Lessons: Four Plays by Euripeds (2006)